It's happening: Formula 1 officially returns on July 5th

By topgear, 03 June 2020

Good news, everyone. After much speculation, Formula 1 and the FIA have confirmed when and where the first eight races of the revised 2020 season will (hopefully) take place.

First come two races at Austria’s Red Bull Ring (a track with which we are very familiar thanks to Speed Week) on July 5th and July 12th. A week later the Hungarian Grand Prix will go ahead at the Hungaroring on July 19th, before teams set sail for the UK.

The British Grand Prix is set for August 2nd, then a second race will be held at Silverstone (the “70th Anniversary Grand Prix”) just a week later on August 9th. On August 16th teams will race in the Spanish Grand Prix at Catalunya, then on August 30th in the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps. Finally on September 6th it’s the Italian GP at Monza.

F1 says that because of “the ongoing fluidity of the COVID-19 situation internationally”, the wider calendar won’t be published for a few weeks yet. All-in, it expects between 15 and 18 races to take place before the season ends in December. At least these first eight rounds will be supported by Formula 2 and 3 races.

Predictably F1 says it expects these opening rounds “to be closed events”, however it hopes “fans will be able to attend again when it is safe to do so”.

The sport says the health and safety of everyone involved is “priority number one”, and that there is “a robust and detailed plan to ensure the races maintain the highest level of safety with strict procedures in place”.

Excited for the return of Grand Prix racing?

STORY Tom Harrison

Related Articles